Umbilical electric winch 3500 m cable and deployment A-Frame

Umbilical electric winch A 3500 m cable and deployment A-Frame

Description

Background

This project has been built for a world leader in project management, engineering and construction for the energy industry. STARTER teams have designed and built an umbilical electric winch mounted on a base and operating an umbilical current measurement system.
The ship has a probe set at the end of the umbilical cable carrying and transmitting data, attached to the winch and lowered to measure subsea currents, temperatures, etc… helping in the accurate positioning of subsea pipes.

 

Objectives

Design and manufacturing of the fiber optic umbilical winch with a length of 3500 meters and of its chassis base and deployment a-frame.
Integration of electro-hydraulic control-system from dedicated components, developed by our customer.

 

Challenges

On an extremely limited period of time, STARTER designed the umbilical electric winch and its structure (base + A frame) by integrating the chassis of the system components (including the probe, the umbilical cord, the slip ring, etc …).

 

STARTER solution : umbilical electric winch

Involvement of project teams at very early stage to define STARTER jointly with our customer teams and its subcontractors and suppliers, to define specifications and technical aspects required for operations in an environment characterized by extreme climatic conditions.
By adapting the Internal Starter testing rig, STARTER developed tools designed to perform the series of tests of the entire winch frame.

 

Result

Winching solution commissioned since 2009, and operational on behalf of Petrobras offshore in Brazil.

 

Technical specifications of the umbilical electric winch

  • Pulling force : 2 000 daN.
  • Speed : 70 m/mn.
  • Wire rope : 3,500 meters umbilical hose, diameter 11 mm.

Related products

Treuil électrique ombilical et déploiement A-frame

Treuil électrique ombilical et déploiement A-frame

Description

Contexte

Ce projet a été construit pour un leader mondial dans la gestion de projet, l’ingénierie et la construction pour l’industrie de l’énergie – les équipes STARTER ont conçu et construit un treuil électrique ombilical monté sur une base et utilisant un système de mesure du courant ombilical.
Le navire a une sonde réglée à la fin du câble ombilical transportant et transmettant des données, attaché au treuil et abaissé pour mesurer les courants sous-marins, les températures, etc., contribuant au positionnement précis des tuyaux sous-marins.

 

Objectif

Conception et fabrication du treuil électrique ombilical à fibre optique avec une longueur de 3500 mètres et de sa base de châssis et son déploiement A-frame.
Intégration du système de contrôle électro-hydraulique à partir de composants dédiés, développés par nos clients.

 

Défis

Sur une période extrêmement limitée, STARTER a conçu le treuil et sa structure (base + A-frame) en intégrant des composants du système sur le châssis. (Y compris la sonde, le câble ombilical, l’anneau de glissement, etc.).

 

Solution STARTER : treuil électrique ombilical 

Participation des équipes de projet à un stade précoce pour définir STARTER en collaboration avec nos équipes clientes et ses sous-traitants et fournisseurs, afin de définir les spécifications et les aspects techniques requis pour les opérations dans un environnement caractérisé par des conditions climatiques extrêmes.

 

Résultat

Solution de treuillage commandée depuis 2009 et opérationnelle pour le compte de Petrobras au large du Brésil.

 

Spécificités techniques du treuil électrique ombilical 

  • Force de traction : 2000 daN
  • Vitesse : 70m / min
  • Longueur du câble : 3500 mètres de câble ombilical de diamètre 11mm

Produits associés