Dry dock winches

Dry dock winches

Description

Background

For a world leader for value-added naval defense systems and naval prime contractor, systems integrator and shipbuilder, STARTER provided five dry dock winches in order to pull submarines into a dry-dock in the port of Brest in France.

 

Objectives

The goal was to design and implement a system in order to dock a submarine. Starter teams designed and produced a complete system of mooring.

 

Challenges

All equipments are exposed to a marine environment. All winches are powered by a pneumatic network.

 

STARTER solution : dry dock winches

Infrastructures consist in 4 trolleys allocated along the dry-dock. A 5 tons winch is integrated on each trolley. Then a 15 tons winch is positioned at the back of the dock. Pneumatic motors allow constant tension of all mooring winches.

 

Result

The complete installation is composed of 4 trolleys placed on guiding rails. Each trolley received a side mooring winch of 5 tons capacity. A fifth winch, placed at the back of the dry dock allaws the submarine to enter into the dock.

 

Technical specifications

Application : Dry dock winches
Effort : 4 x 5 000 daN First Layer + 1 x 15 000 daN First Layer
Speed : 5 m/mn.
Braking capacity : 25 000 daN.
Length : 200 m with Ø 30 mm.

Related products

Treuil de cale sèche

Treuil de cale sèche

Description

Contexte

Pour un leader mondial des systèmes de défense navale à valeur ajoutée et maître d’oeuvre naval, intégrateur de systèmes et constructeur de navires, STARTER a fourni cinq treuils électriques afin de tirer des sous-marins dans une cale sèche dans le port de Brest en France.

 

Objectifs

L’objectif était de concevoir et mettre en place un système afin d’ancrer un sous-marin. Les équipes de STARTER ont conçu et produit un système complet d’amarrage.

 

Défis

Tous les équipements sont exposés à un environnement marin. Tous les treuils de cale sèche sont alimentés par un réseau pneumatique.

 

Solution STARTER

Les infrastructures consistent en 4 chariots alloués le long de la cale sèche. Un treuil de 5 tonnes est intégré sur chaque chariot. Ensuite, un treuil de 15 tonnes est positionné à l’arrière du quai. Les moteurs pneumatiques permettent une tension constante de tous les treuils d’amarrage.

 

Résultat

L’installation complète est composée de 4 chariots placés sur des rails de guidage. Chaque chariot a reçu un treuil d’amarrage latéral d’une capacité de 5 tonnes. Un cinquième treuil, placé à l’arrière de la cale sèche, permet au sous marin d’entrer dans le quai.

 

Spécificités techniques du treuil de cale sèche

  • Application : Treuil de cale sèche
  • Effort : 4 x 5 000 daN en première couche + 1 x 15 000 daN en premère couche
  • Vitesse : 5 m/mn.
  • Capacité de frein : 25 000 daN.
  • Longueur de câble : 200 m avec Ø 30 mm.

Produits associés